Terror Concert Review

Posted: June 6, 2011 by storkmusic in Concert Review

Terror Concert Review

I’ve been to a load of concerts in these past months, to bands such as The Devil Wears Prada, but seeing Terror with Stick To Your Guns and Trapped Under Ice really reminded me how spectacular small scale shows can be. Don’t misinterpret me, The Devil Wears Prada is one of my top favorite bands of all time, but feeling the adrenaline of being packed into a small bar with over a hundred people as stage divers shoot over your head like cannons and breakdowns rage through the room is really incomparable to a large scale concert. Terror is leading a must see tour that ends soon- and I’d recommend you buy your tickets quickly.

With a run time of about four hours, six bands with about thirty to forty five minutes of music a piece. I didn’t care too much for the first three bands (Cause for Revelation, Your Demise, and Close Your Eyes), but I would recommend taking a gander at their music, they sounded fantastic. As the concert went on, the amount of people packed into the small venue. As soon as Trapped Under Ice played, it was apparent that the crowd was ready for some action. Before I knew it, the pit was filled and the moshing and the throw down had begun. A few rebellious kids climbed on stage and threw themselves onto the unaware concert goers, which was pretty entertaining due to the fact that some of the crowd didn’t want to catch them at first. As the set ended, the room was about twenty degrees warmer than before.

Soon Stick To Your Guns gathered their gear and began their set, and the crowd loved it. The pit was filled to the brim during the breakdowns, the front of the stage was crammed with fans waiting for the mic to come near their reach, and even more people shuffled in as the set powered on. STYG played some of their better known songs, such as Amber, which led to pushing towards the stage and the chanting of lyrics spinning around the room. The set ended after a leviathan performance of “This is More” which led to the crowd charging the stage, taking the mic and then a group stage dive into a final mass throw down.

I didn’t think that Terror could have topped STYG, their set was one of the best I had ever seen, and I was still coming off of my adrenaline high. I was wrong. I can’t give you a play by play on what went down, because quite frankly, I don’t know myself. I had my eyes on the pit and to the sky as lead singer/screamer Scott Vogel called for stage divers to assault the crowd; and they did. Their music to me wasn’t appealing, but the mood and emotion it evoked was unmatched by any other band that night. I ended up throwing down in the pits, soaring through the air in multiple stage dives, and absorbing the energy that the band delivered like a hardcore sponge.

Go see this concert if it comes near you, I can’t rave enough about how much all of the participating bands delivered. As I left the venue my only wish was to charge the stage once more to end Stick To Your Guns’ set, or to go stage diving as double bass ate up the speakers. I still get an adrenaline rush thinking about it. Dates are posted on Terror’s and STYG’s Facebook pages for upcoming shows- make sure not to miss this monumental concert when it comes near you.

~K

Leave a Reply

